Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Xfire different brand 6850's?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 7, 2012 3:33:06 AM

So I am looking to xfire 2 amd radeon 6850's. The one I currently have is the gigabyte OC edition, which happens to be out of stock on newegg and amazon without indications of being restocked. I am wondering if I can then buy the sapphire radeon hd 6850 and crossfire the 2 without problems. Any help would be appreciated, even if it is a simple yes / no :)  also, if the answer is that it is possible, can anyone link me to a good crossfire bridge connector thingy? Im new to crossfiring so I'm seeking a bit of help.

Thanks in advance!

More about : xfire brand 6850

September 7, 2012 3:41:51 AM

No reason it wouldnt work. And the card should come with a crossfire bridge. Your gigabyte should have come with one too.
Score
a b U Graphics card
September 7, 2012 3:47:23 AM

You can have them in CF only problem is you have to either underclock the gigabyte OC one or OC the Sapphire card. They just have to run the same core and memory speeds. Besides that brand doesn't matter at all only model. AMD also lets you run two cards of the same series together, for example any 68xx card so if you really wanted to you can CF a 6850 and 6870.
Score
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
September 7, 2012 3:47:47 AM

Yep, it should work just fine. AMD's GPU's are fairly flexible that way. I am Currently running an ASUS Radeon HD 6870 card with an XFX Radeon HD 6870. No problems at all. They aren't even clocked at the same Core and Memory frequencies.
Score
September 7, 2012 3:55:49 AM

JKatwyopc said:
Yep, it should work just fine. AMD's GPU's are fairly flexible that way. I am Currently running an ASUS Radeon HD 6870 card with an XFX Radeon HD 6870. No problems at all. They aren't even clocked at the same Core and Memory frequencies.