Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Compatibility Checklist - Checked Multiple Times, Still Paranoid.

Last response: in Systems
November 4, 2012 5:48:02 AM

Hello. I need someone to verify the integrity of this build; to make sure that there aren't any compatibility issues or otherwise any other flaws.

I triple-checked the specs myself, but I'm still not 100% sure. Specifically, this post by Johnny Lucky says that the Nvidia GeForce GTX 600 series with PCIe 3.0 requires a motherboard and a CPU that support PCIe 3.0. Well, the motherboard supports it, but the CPU doesn't even mention PCIe 3.0 in its specs. I checked other similar CPUs within the price range and none make any mention of it either. Should I be concerned?

This is my first build ever and I want it to be as close to perfect as possible, with no hassle, failures, errors, crashes, etc upon first-time boot-up. So please help me :) 

Only component that I'm missing is the PSU. By far, the PSU is the most complicated part to buy for me. I'm saving that last bit for after I get the all-clear on this build from you guys first ;) 

BUDGET: $1300 - $1400
PURPOSE: Mainly gaming, with possibly light video editing as a hobby.

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I53570K

GPU: EVGA 02G-P4-2680-KR GeForce GTX 680 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Internal SSD: SAMSUNG 830 Series 2.5-Inch 256GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-7PC256B/WW

Internal HDD: Western Digital WD Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

RAM: Mushkin Enhanced Radioactive 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model 997006