Sign in with
Your question

Gaming laptop 1500$ budget

Last response: in Systems
November 4, 2012 10:01:19 PM

Hello forum,

I'm trying to decide on which laptop to buy for my new gaming system. I am an airline pilot and travel a lot; currently have a Dell XPS1640 which is about 4 years old now and showing signs of use... I can barely play any games on this thing as it is.

I was looking for a 15 inch laptop with a 1500$ budget but couldn't make a choice of which laptop. Currently I have been looking between the MSI gx60, MSI gt60, and ASUS G55VW.

Another question of mine is it worth to have a SSD? If I were to purchase one would I be able to raid it with another hardrive for extra storage without the high cost?

Thank you all for your time and future suggestions.

Robert
a b D Laptop
a b 4 Gaming
November 5, 2012 4:06:33 PM

specific games?
m
l
a b D Laptop
a b 4 Gaming
November 5, 2012 7:11:59 PM

Hi Rob, let me try to answer some questions for you.

An SSD in a laptop makes a big difference. They work faster, especially booting up windows when it's been shut down is several times faster with SSD than an HDD. Another point to make is if you have have to use your laptop on battery, SSD consumes less battery power to operate as compared to HDD. And, SSD has no moving parts, so if you use your computer on the go you have less to worry about sudden shakes when the harddrive is working. (if you use the laptop primarily on a desk while plugged into the wall outlet then the last two points don't matter as much).

No, you will not be able to RAID an SSD with HDD. The drives need to be of same capacity. So, technically you might be able to raid them, but you will only be able to have HDD capacity equal to SSD capacity.

Could you give links to the exact models you're looking at buying? Those laptops are customizable, which a lot of resellers do, so without having a specific link it's hard to say what you're looking at.