osamabinpwnn

Honorable
Nov 4, 2012
Hey guys i'm really new to building computers and would like some advice on a new build for my parents. They'll mainly be using it for work wich includes tons of webpages and word files being open at the same time, there is also that they might use it for video editing and rendering. Their last computer lasted them over 7 years and they'd like this one to do the same. One last thing, the computer needs to be extremely quiet, fans drive them mad.

Here's what i'm thinking:

Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D

Motherboard: ASUS P8Z77-V DELUXE LGA 1155 Intel Z77

CPU: Intel Core i7 3770k

CPU cooler: Corsair H100

Graphics card: XFX AMD Radeon HD7870 2 GB DDR5

Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB)

Storage: SAMSUNG 830 Series 2.5-Inch 256GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive + old 250GB HDD

Power supply: Seasonic 400W 80 Plus Gold Fanless (do i need more Watts?)

Fans(remember extra quiet): 3x Scythe gentle typhoon 2 for the back and 1 for the top and 1x BitFenix Spectre Pro 200mm Fan for the front intake.

Extras: LG Electronics 10X Blu-Ray SATA Writer and
NZXT SENTRY 2 Accessories 5.25-Inch Touch Screen Fan Controller

Total cost:$1,702.19

So there you have it, I just want to know if im overkilling it. Any advice or tips would be very much appreciated.

You are probably going to need more power for that computer, even though the one you picked is very highly rated.

Generally, you can't even hear the power supply fan. In my experience of building, the power supply fan is the least audible fan.

The H100 is really a waste of money, especially on a rig designed to last a long time. You shouldn't be overclocking if you want it to last 7 years, and they wont need it anyway. A quiet air cooler makes more sense, as does an i5. If they are happy with a 7 year old rig and just do word processing.... Yea.