Sign in with
Your question

New Computer System for Maximum Storage and Power

Last response: in Systems
November 5, 2012 10:27:52 AM

Hi, I'm a photographer and I have the need to store large RAW files and volumes of RAW files. Some of which I would need to keep handy and of which I just need backup and store.

I'm currently running a 2 x 3TB Dual Core + 16GB RAM. I'm currently using bluray discs to store most of my raw files, except it sometimes becomes tedius trying to re-locate discs etc, my cataloging system is piss-poor at the moment.

I want to look at building a new computer and I've been having a look at parts sporadically, and I wanted to get some advice from here. I've been looking at Motherboards with the most SATA ports, so that I can add as many HD's as possible. However, in some forums they have suggested to go for SATA Controller (not sure why I would need this unless I want to expand the number of SATA ports).

So here's what I'm looking at:
Intel Based Motherboard with the most SATA ports (8+ ports)
Quad-Core or Six-Core i7
32 GB of RAM and if possible to upgrade to 64GB RAM at a later stage
Fit about 8-10 x 3TB Harddrives + 2 SSD
The best RAID formation with 8-10HD
Space to fit in a bluray burner
Firewire
USB 3 ports
USB 2 ports
Wireless Built in (if possible) or continue to use my Wireless Card
Bluetooth built in (if possible) or I can continue to use my USB dongle
A Case to Support all the HDs, I was considering a Lian-Li PC-V2120
Graphics card - Support Maya, Photoshop etc... I'm using two 2 x 27" Monitors so would love to connect them using DVI instead of DVI + VGA. HDMI would be great as well.
I have a 7.1 Logitech Sorround Sound system which I would love to continue to use, and happy to go with 5.1 if required.
Should I add Energy Concious, or is this asking too much ?