Equipment for preventing ESD.

Pmckenna

Honorable
Sep 24, 2012
Hi guys and gals!

Its very cold and dry where I live, so I'm going to be purchasing an ESD mat so I don't zap any parts during my first build. Problem is, I can't decide on which of these two mats to get...

£15 ~ http://www.amazon.co.uk/LINDY-43080-Anti-Static-Service-Kit/dp/B000I2JX3A/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1352157755&sr=8-1

£50 ~ http://www.amazon.co.uk/Anti-Static-Grounding-Bench-1200x500mm/dp/B005PM98T2/ref=sr_1_2?s=computers&ie=UTF8&qid=1352157805&sr=1-2

I would get the cheaper version no problem, it's just from the photo it doesn't look like I can ground it through a wall socket. Whilst the more expensive one has a plug with it, and also has more surface area apparently.

It would be great to hear your thoughts.

Thanks in advance,
Paul

Pmckenna

Honorable
Sep 24, 2012
Yeah, I'm aware a lot of guys here don't bother with wrist bands and such. But since this is my first build, I'm using expensive components and I'll be adding more parts in the near future, I'd feel a lot better if I used a mat.

Hell, I'm even considering anti-static spray! :D

So which of these two mats do you think is the better option?

I'm with Outlander, you don't need any special equipment to properly guard against ESD. Though I do personally use a wristband.

Mount the PSU in the case and plug it into the wall (switch off). Connect the wristband to any exposed metal on the case and you are grounded, really that simple.
Do the build on a non conductive surface (wood, stone even cardboard is good), don't stand on carpet and do the build in bare feet or with shoes, not just socks.
Don't touch the gold pins/plates on the RAM and CPU (shouldn't do this regardless of precautions).

Should be fine if you follow those steps.

Pmckenna

Honorable
Sep 24, 2012