Sign in with
Your question

Help! is this a good gaming build so far? any suggestions?

Tags:
  • Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
November 5, 2012 11:10:24 PM

Hi, this is my first build and i was wondering if it is any good? i definitely need some help finding out which parts are compatible with each other.. I've tried watching videos but none of them answer my specific questions. Could you help out? am i missing parts?

Video card- HIS iCooler H777F1G2M Radeon HD 7770 GHz Edition 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card

Motherboard- ASUS P8Z77-V LK LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Processor- Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000

Memory ram- G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop

More about : good gaming build suggestions

November 6, 2012 12:25:55 AM

Instead of the P8Z77-V LK, get the ASRock Extreme 4 Z77. More power phases, better overclocks.

I would also recommend swapping out the i7 3770k for an i5 3570k. With the cash saved, invest in a GTX660 or Radeon HD7870 :) 
m
l
Related resources
November 6, 2012 1:12:50 AM

mace200200 said:
The i7's are pretty useless when it comes to gaming. The SB i5 3470 will save you some money.
Also 8 gigs of RAM is usually more than enough so 16 is just silly. Look at me, I still run a 32 bit OS and get by fine on 3.3 gigs :D 

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

+1

All I can say is use the extra money you have from both the savings of the RAM and the Processor and get yourself a GTX 660 - against synthetic benchmark belief, the GTX 660 is actually a great card. It will give you EASILY twice the frames of the 7770, and you don't have to worry about AMD's sketchy drivers.