Setting up a router undetected at university

AndyWils

Distinguished
Oct 26, 2011
Hi,
I have recently purchased a PS3 and can sign into my PSN account but cannot access PSN when i try to play games on multiplayer.
My university doesn't allow routers so I was wondering if:
1)Having a router would let my ps3 work properly online?
2)How to set up a router without it being detected. I have no knowledge whatsoever of routers so it would be much appreciated if the advice could be dumbed down a lot :D

Thank you

I assume your PS3 needs to open ports on the firewall. At least that's been my experience w/ most consoles if you intend to support online gaming. Problem is, you don't control the university firewall. Even if you could, it would only work for ONE user since the necessary port forwarding can only be directed to a single IP address (and even that IP address is most likely dynamically assigned). Until and unless you can solve those problems (highly unlikely), the router (as least when it comes to supporting the PS3) is a moot issue.

As far as using a router for general purposes, you will probably have to clone the MAC address of your PC/laptop (the one already authorized on the university network) to the WAN port of your router (a feature available w/ most routers these days). The university system will then be fooled into thinking your PC/laptop is connected to the system when in fact it’s your router.