Sign in with
Your question

RAM usage very high

Last response: in Systems
November 8, 2012 9:49:01 AM

Hello everyone,

I'm a uni student from England now living in Belgium studying Digital Arts and Entertainment.

As a part of my new life i took everything with me, but now that I'm am now in Belgium my computer is acting very strange. Even tho being in a different county is totally unrelated xD.

My ram usage has SKYROCKETED and seemingly for no apparent reason. The computer was transported in a car (nice and cozy, wearing a seat belt :kaola:  ) but whenever i start my PC the usage shoots to 49% and the CPU is at 1% I'm only on the desktop.

I am currently running a:

i7 920 CPU
6GB Corsair Dominator RAM
3x 580 GTX delivering to 3x 3D screens
More than enough HDD space on C:
1000w PSU

I paid for this myself and the components are stupidly expensive here so i really want to get around it some how, and honestly i don't even think anything is damaged but something is just hogging something :??:  !

I even tried to put in another 6GB of my older ram, fixed the timings and was fine but then it was still stupidly high. Guess i was just running away from the problem than trying to fix it :( 

My top processes are Chrome topped between 65k - 119k, so i downloaded RamMap and it is showing so many things being utilized:
svchost.exe and other things i have no idea about.

I have done a virus scan and nothing :(  / :D 

Is there anything im doing wrong? or a program i can download to disable all this crap running in the background? Or maybe my ram has had id?

Thanks in advance

Zijn

More about : ram usage high

a b B Homebuilt system
November 8, 2012 10:00:38 AM

iirc Windows will change its ram usage based on how much you have. svchost is something you need. Can't remember what, but I have looked it up before. I have 8GB installed and windows always uses around 3GB so I don't think this is much of a problem.
November 8, 2012 10:04:39 AM

Zijn said: