My eVGA 8800 GT FPS doubled after system restore. cant get it again...

orangetuner

Honorable
Sep 11, 2012
Hi, im new to the overclock scene and after some issues with my gpu drivers i ended up doing a system restore. afterwards my 8800 gt ran like 50-70% faster in stock speeds (i kid you not!), almost comparable to sli, but when i turned off my pc to clean the dust build up out of my gpu and cpu its speed went back to normal. i cant grasp or understand how this is possible. do thing like this happen? and why? can i get it again? if so, do you know how?

specs:
op= windows 7 32-bit
mobo= gigabyte g31m-es2l
bios= award modular bios v6.00pg
cpu= intel core 2 duo 6600 @ 2.40ghz
ram= g.skill 2gb 240pin ddr2 sdram 800 (pc2 6400)
directx 11

I dont know if telling the events that happen prior to it are important, but its the only thing i can go off of.