Sign in with
Your question

What do i need for 3D

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 13, 2012 6:33:21 AM

Whats up guys i just bought an alienware optx23 monitor and it says it supports 3D. Also i have a hd7970 which also supports 3d. Now my question is what do i need to make it work? Just glasses? or something else? I am a complete noob when it comes to 3d stuff.

Thanks in advance :) 

More about : question

September 13, 2012 6:44:16 AM

^^

NO NO NO NO NO!
m
l
Related resources
September 13, 2012 6:48:33 AM

amuffin said:
^^

NO NO NO NO NO!

If I made an error then correct it don't just say WRONG!! :ange: 
m
l
September 13, 2012 8:28:46 AM

El Monstero29 said:
If I made an error then correct it don't just say WRONG!! :ange: 

He has a Radeon 7970!

You listed the stuff you need for Nvidia 3d vision.
m
l
September 13, 2012 8:33:27 AM

amuffin said:
He has a Radeon 7970!

You listed the stuff you need for Nvidia 3d vision.

:lol:  your right my bad :kaola: 

but does that mean he's screwed? as far as I know the alienware monitor can only use the nvidia stuff
m
l
September 13, 2012 5:00:11 PM

so what would 7970 need? or its not possible?
m
l
September 13, 2012 6:14:33 PM

If your monitor has a DualLink-DVI port, you will need Tridef software to run 3d with an AMD card. If your monitor does not have DL-DVI (the dell page only says DVI, doesn't specify) you won't be able to achieve full 120FPS (60FPS/eye), and you may want to consider returning your monitor. You can get a free trial of Tridef to check this as well (good to make sure you actually like 3d as well).

A good AMD compatible 3d monitor will have a display port (or mini-display port) connection; and they will usually come with Tridef software for free and a set of glasses.

An S23A950D is a good choice; I have it's predecessor the S23A750D and like it; there may be better displays out there, but this one was the standout choice when I was picking up a 3d monitor.