Sign in with
Your question

Need advice on my Gaming HTPC build

Last response: in Systems
November 9, 2012 9:21:03 PM

Hi guys, i'm looking to build the following but need a little advice. I am able to get the parts very cheap as i work in the industry but really need to know what you guys think and if you could also give a little advice if i have put a wrong config together.

Approximate Purchase Date: Before Christmas

Budget Range: £900 after shipping

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Surfing the Net, watching movies

Are you buying a monitor: No, its going to be hooked up to my TV

Parts to Upgrade: Its a brand new build

Do you need to buy OS: No

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Various Distributor sites

Parts Preferences: Intel CPU

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: No

Your Monitor Resolution: At the moment a 22" LG Flat screen, then a bigger TV

Additional Comments: Needs to be quiet while watching movies but doesn't really matter while gaming

And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading: I'm currently using a Pavilion DV7 laptop that is starting to grind so i thought ill build a PC that even my wife can enjoy. Also i am able to get the components extremely cheap so this would be within my budget.

I'm thinking the PSU isn't powerful enough but from looking at the Corsair website and their power supply calculator an 800w should be ok.

Case: Novatech Opera Media Center Case

Case Fans (As the case doesn't come with them): 3 x Arctic Cooling F8 PWM Case Fan with Standard Case

Motherboard: ASUS MAXIMUS V GENE

CPU: Intel Core i7 3770K - 3.5 GHz - 4 cores - 8 threads - 8 MB cache - LGA1155 Socket - Box

RAM: Corsair Vengeance Performance Memory Module 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz

Hard Drive 1 (For the O/S): Crucial v4 128GB, SATA 3Gb/s 2.5-inch (9.5mm) SSD

Hard Drive 2: Western Digital, Caviar Green 2TB 3.5" Internal Hard drive, SATA 6Gb/s (SATA 3) 64MB Cache

Optical Drive 1: Asus BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS 12x Blu-Ray Combo, Internal, Black