Your question

TCP/IP on LAN

Tags:
  • LAN
  • TCP/IP
  • Networking
Last response: in Networking
August 1, 2001 6:12:53 PM

Right now im using IPX protocol for my LAN, but for some games, its required to use TCP/IP... but for some crazy reason my new computer will take an extra 2 min to boot up with that protocol installed! It drives me nuts. My athlon600 will boot up slower than my old pentium150!
I only have this problem in win98se, not in win2K (have dualboot), but 98 is the only solution for games. Im no expert when it comes to networking, but I believe the TCP/IP may be looking for more devices/servers/computers to connect to?

Right now Im using (2) SMZ EZnet 10/100 network cards connecting through a SMC 10/100 5 port dual-speed switch
I hope someone can help me, id really appreciate it, ive been having this problem for months now :( 

More about : tcp lan

August 1, 2001 6:28:53 PM

What games do you play? I've played games over a LAN with W2k with no problems whatsoever.
Oops, I lied. There's one bug in Red Alert 2 that hinders your playing it with more than one W2k system in the game. I don't know if there's a patch yet.

-----------------
Whoever thinks up a good sig for me gets a prize :wink:
Anonymous
August 1, 2001 7:36:23 PM

This problem is most likely caused by your system trying to access a DHCP network server to obtain an IP address for your computer. You can determine if your computer is setup to obtain an address automatically by looking in the TCP/IP Properties dialogue box in Control Panel > Networks. In here you will see Obtain an IP address automatically has been selected.

To speed up the restart procedure you can choose Specify an IP address and enter your IP address and subnet Mask but ONLY if your network/ ISP supports this method.

ignore everything i say
Related resources
August 13, 2001 9:17:25 PM