The77s

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2010
Hey, basically, I use to live a long way out, and for years and years I had a Connection of 180kB/s, it was terrible, but I lived with it anyway.

Now, I have moved to a place not so far out of civilization, it's a small town near a city.

I am paying for 20MB Broadband, and I am only receiving 1764.2kB/s in Download, and 107.8kB/s in Upload, my Ping is 43ms.

This I tested numerous times on speedtest.net and the results were the same each time.

What I was wondering is, have Sky accidentally put me on a slow connection somehow or is this reality for my connection?

I mean, it's amazing compared to the 180kB/s, but the fact that I'm paying for 20MB and not even getting 2MB is a big disappointment.

I'm not tech savvy when it comes to Routers or anything like that, but I will tell you that I set up a Static IP, I don't think that would effect it though.

(I set up the Static IP when I was at my old house, and my Computer kept it coming to the new one).

Anyhow, thanks for reading, sorry it was long, and thanks for any suggestions or help.

nemesis4895

Distinguished
May 16, 2011

ISP advertising can be mis-leading. They advertise in Megabit's. When you download, the speed is shows as kilobytes or megabytes. 1 byte = 8 bits. So you're actually getting what you paid for. About 2 MB's per second download will be as fast is it gets for you.

gnomio

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2011
Your download speed is dependent on many factors, your sync speed, the speed of your equipment, the speed and utilisation of networks between you and your destination and (the most common cause) the speed at which the destination is capable of, or willing to serve you the files.

You moved further away so your speed will also be lower.

smirnofred

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2011