Do I need a Workstation or Gaming card?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lsixecho

Distinguished
May 31, 2009
I'm building a new computer for home use and I think I've got most of the parts figured out except the video card.
My day job is an architectural designer and I'd like to be able to use Revit 2013 on my home computer for working on personal projects and for bringing work home. Autodesk suggests using "workstation" cards like the Quadro and ATI's FirePro for Revit but doing a little research it seems that professionals are going for GTX cards which I guess can get you the same results for less cost.
I'll also be gaming on this machine (BF3) so I'm leaning heavily on getting a GTX 670 to use it both for games and Revit. Note: I won't be rendering with Revit, most of the work will be work on modelling.
I'll also be doing some work on Photoshop and non-professional video editing; mostly family videos, no heavy use of effects or anything like that.

So what do you guys think? I would hate to have to get 2 separate cards. Not in the budget.

Monitor: will be getting either the 27" or 30: Dell ultra sharp. (Yes this is in the budget. I've been holding out for a large monitor for years)

Solution

Then definitely get this, it would be more than enough (for that money) and it will definitely satisfy almost all (or all, depending on your plans) of your needs.
It's a much better option than GTX 670 (which is mainly a gaming card, not suited for actual work).

For 3D modeling benchmarks...usually, people use latest "Furmark", for that.

master_chen

Honorable
Jun 20, 2012