Sign in with
Your question

Upgrade priority for a self built, 1 year old gaming PC?

Last response: in Systems
November 11, 2012 11:30:34 AM

Okay, so I built myself a(gaming) PC a year ago.
Specs:
CPU: AMD Athlon II X4 640(3.0ghz)
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-870A-USB3
GPU: ATI(AMD) Radeon HD 5770
RAM: 4 GB DDR3
Display: 19" 4:3 1280x1024
HDD: 1 Samsung HD103SJ 1TB, 1 old fujitsu 140gb drive I got for free
PSU: 550W, Chieftec

Problem is, most newer games are 20-40 FPS in medium-high, which means I probably want a new GPU. Or should i add a few fans and OC the GPU, or even get a HD 5870/HD 6870?
Or should I add more ram? Bigger display?
The possibilities are almost endless.
But as a middle school student I am low on funds, so what do you guys think would be the upgrades this PC needs most(or none at all)?
November 11, 2012 3:13:16 PM

I would say get a 6870 first of all, that should boost your performance the most right off the bat. After that, I would save for a newer CPU, and try to get one with at least 3.7ghz clock speed (sorry, don't know AMD cpu's other than they general need higher clocks for the same performance). If a new CPU is out of the question, grab a CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo CPU fan (it fits your socket type) and OC your CPU to around 3.5 if you can. There should be a nice bit of headroom if you put that cooler on (assuming the CPU multiplier is unlocked), since I was able to OC my i5 2500k from 3.7 to 4.5 easily and not ever go over 60* C. Overall, at your resolution (and almost any resolution really), 4gb of RAM is plenty as long as it is 1600 or better. If yours is only 1333, that might be something to look into after a 6870 and a CPU cooler to overclock.
November 11, 2012 3:19:28 PM

4:3 isn't great for gaming, either. Invest in something 16:10 and if you can't find one in your price range, 16:9. Games are designed to run in some sort of widescreen format nowadays, you're holding yourself back playing in a 4:3 setup.
Related resources