Cheap, cheap, cheap media center PC help!

ninjames

Distinguished
Apr 9, 2012
Approximate Purchase Date: Immediately (Thu, Nov. 15)

Budget Range: $400ish, but hopefully lower than that. If "much lower" is a possibility, that'd be great.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Plugging in an external hard drive and connecting to my TV via HDMI to stream video, some of it HD 1080P. Alternatively, I will also use it at my desk while working (I am a sports writer, and the most intensive thing I do is have 30+ tabs open).

Parts: Don't need monitor, keyboards, speakers, OS

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Amazon Prime stuff always preferred, Newegg second.

Additional Comments: Must have USB 3.0, 1080p, needs to be sufficiently cool. If there's some neat smaller cases or even devices that are built just for this (and still allow me to use them for normal computer things like internet browsing). Being able to run Windows 7 and not be forced to use Linux or something would be great. I have 8 GB of Corsair RAM (two 4 GB sticks) that I bought for a future gaming build but they aren't being used. Probably overkill, I guess.

I don't know the first thing about HD and decoding and what not, but I have a lot of HD files (about 3 TB of video) and they stream from my current (Expensive) laptop just swimmingly through media center/VLC. Problem is my current laptop is overheating and I've decided I want something stationary for this.

cutebeans

Distinguished
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD A4-3400 2.7GHz Dual-Core Processor ($48.99 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: ASRock A75M-HVS Micro ATX FM1 Motherboard ($61.98 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($109.99 @ Newegg)
Case: NZXT Source 210 Elite (White) ATX Mid Tower Case ($39.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: Corsair Builder 430W 80 PLUS Certified ATX12V Power Supply ($24.99 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($16.99 @ Newegg)