Sign in with
Your question

how to install a second soundcard

Last response: in Components
Anonymous
November 12, 2001 7:32:12 AM

Hello,

Some days ago I started using PCDJ Red. It's a great program but to be able to prelisten your song before putting it in the mix you need a second soundcard on your system. I'm a real newbie but yesterday I tried to install the new one. That didn't really work out great. In fact the new soundcard worked fine, but I couldn't find back the old one on my system. Maybe I'd better give some information about that system: it's a AMD Athlon 1,2 Ghz on a MSI K7T266 Pro mainboard with a Terratec DMX soundcard (that's the original one) running Win 2k. The 'new' soundcard I want to install is a cheap thing based on a Aureal Vortex soundchip. What shoud I do? I suppose the new card takes in the IRQ('s) of the old one, or am I wrong? Can I configure them manually, or should it work doing it the 'plug and play'-way (like I said, doing it this way, it seemed not to work, but maybe I did something wrong)? I've also tried it under Win98SE, and there I have the same problem (I can only see/use the new soundcard, but not both, in the 'system info'). Can anyone say how I can work this out? Thanx in advance!

More about : install soundcard

November 14, 2001 9:23:40 AM

I am not an expert on this, but you can try to put the second card in a different PCI slot as the irqs are shared. Do both cards show up in Device Manager? Error messages?
I have two sound cards in an old PII 350 a Live and another that I can't remember the name of (It's a XG card of some sort) that work fine so it should be possible.

Dev

Only users loose drugs!
Anonymous
November 14, 2001 12:33:02 PM