Approximate Purchase Date: Around late December/Early January

Budget Range: Up to around $650-$750

System Usage: PC Gaming (Looking to replace console),

Are you buying a monitor: No

Parts to Upgrade: Not sure what to put here

Do you need to buy OS: Yes

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Doesn't matter, as long as it ships to US

Parts Preferences: Intel processor, NVIDIA video card

Overclocking: Not sure what this means...could someone explain?

SLI or Crossfire: Could someone explain this too?

Your Monitor Resolution: I *think* my monitor is 1024x768, but I could be wrong

Additional Comments: I'm looking to replace console gaming with this PC. I have little experience with this kind of stuff, so any help would be appreciated :)

And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading: My Mac can't run PC games :/

malbluff

Honorable
Something like this will give decent gaming performance, for you budget, and monitor. Unfortunately, overclocking of CPU is not feasible at your budget. Sli (the ability to use TWO graphics cards), also isn't possible without more expensive motherboard, and power supply.
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-3450 3.1GHz Quad-Core Processor ($194.15 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: ASRock H77M Micro ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($69.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($33.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 500GB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($52.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 660 2GB Video Card ($229.95 @ B&H)
Case: NZXT Source 210 Elite (White) ATX Mid Tower Case ($39.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: XFX ProSeries 450W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($42.99 @ NCIX US)
Optical Drive: Lite-On iHAS124-04 DVD/CD Writer ($17.99 @ Newegg)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (64-bit) ($91.99 @ Amazon)
Total: $774.03
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)