Configuring a small business network for a law firm

v1zzle

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2009
Hi,

I'm looking for some insight on building a small network for a law firm. The company currently has one desktop and 2 laptops ( I assume the company will grow, but not substantially) All computers are running Windows 7(not sure which version), they also use Outlook for mail and also have a printer.
Now, I'm fairly new to this type of stuff, i'm currently enrolled in Computer Networking Technology program in school, I could use a little help.

To my knowledge, which path should be taken; run an Active Directory environment or use a Peer-to-Peer system. I assume all users have access to all files, i'm sure in the future that can change. Would I need a Microsoft Exchange Server, since they're running Outlook. Possible VPN configuration for laptops to work from home to access resources from work. If the company has a website, should I implement a DMZ to isolate the LAN from the internet and put a certain pc in that DMZ. With regards to the ISP, static ip addressing for the PDC and printer( I assume you have to call the ISP provider to set that up?) DHCP, DNS. Which NOS should I use. What security whould be implemented, or the needed security, it's not DOD :kaola: Should I purchase a server, or build it myself. I've seen basic server machines for around 700$.

Now I assume they don't want to spend an arm and a leg either, but I would like to come up with a proper plan that would benefit their needs.

Thanks for the help in advance,

Cheers!

If you go with Active Directory, all computers need to have at least the Professional version of the OS.

the Home version will not work.

a plain PDC and file server does not have to be powerful. You might get away with an old P4 3.0GHz with two 1TB HDD in RAID1 configuration and 2GB memory

the only time I would use an Exchange Server would be if you would need to share address books and calenders.