Sign in with
Your question
Solved

First time build $1,200-$1,300

Last response: in Systems
November 12, 2012 10:56:45 PM

Hey this is my first time on the forms and i was wondering if i could get any input on this new computer build! To let all of you know this is my first time building a gaming pc and would like any advise for doing so. By the way i would like to connect to wifi and have led lighting in my case. THANK YOU!!!

build: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/nv1N

More about : time build 200 300

November 12, 2012 11:52:30 PM

Nice build. Couple pieces I'd consider changing.

1. I'm not a fan of the base for that monitor. Had one, returned it. Felt like the stand would break rather easily and is not compatible with aftermarket stands.
2. A bigger hard drive, a few more dollars and get TB+.
3. You're building a fast machine, get a SSD which in my opinion is the best end user experience upgrade. A pc with a SSD will feel much quicker than one with a faster processor and platter drive.
4. Bigger PSU so you've got a little head room and enough juice for potential future additions.

If you're going to be gaming @ 1080p then you have some flexibility in your vid card.

To keep the total cost the same I'd go with a HD7870 or HD7850, if you need more horsepower grab another in the future, get a bigger platter drive, and a SSD.
m
l
November 13, 2012 12:12:00 AM

bjaminnyc said:
Nice build. Couple pieces I'd consider changing.

1. I'm not a fan of the base for that monitor. Had one, returned it. Felt like the stand would break rather easily and is not compatible with aftermarket stands.
2. A bigger hard drive, a few more dollars and get TB+.
3. You're building a fast machine, get a SSD which in my opinion is the best end user experience upgrade. A pc with a SSD will feel much quicker than one with a faster processor and platter drive.
4. Bigger PSU so you've got a little head room and enough juice for potential future additions.