Your question

Static electricity query

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Components
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
November 13, 2012 10:33:21 AM

Hi, i am quite new to PC building, i have all my components my question is do i need to get an anti static wrist band or will i be ok without one, thanks in advance

More about : static electricity query

November 13, 2012 11:09:43 AM

I typically work without one; but I always work on a hard surface, and always touch the (metal) case of the PC just before touching any components. While I'm working inside the case, I rest my wrists on the case to stay discharged.

I've heard that you should install the PSU and keep it plugged in to the wall (but switched off I assume) to link the case to earth ground in your house, but I've never practiced this myself.
November 13, 2012 11:22:22 AM

Interesting ^^
Related resources
November 13, 2012 11:34:55 AM

basically as long as you play it safe and don't set your PC down on a carpet whilst you wear your comfy wool socks, you should be fine without one.

I personally have never used a wrist strap, for as long as you are careful and properly discharge yourself before handling components you should be fine.
November 13, 2012 11:45:27 AM

lol to the last comment and ok thanks guys i will do without :) 
November 13, 2012 12:37:29 PM

I too have never used a wrist strap and I work with my shirt off just to minimize the static further lol.
November 13, 2012 12:46:43 PM

If you have proper grounding equipment you should use it. As you can see, it will put you light years ahead of the majority here. There are countless posts here daily sighting undiagnosable problems that could easily be caused by static discharge.
November 13, 2012 12:51:06 PM