Your question
Closed

New Build Won't Boot After Multiple RMAs

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
November 13, 2012 2:48:09 PM

Hey there guys, I have a frustrating problem. My homebuilt computer--this is my first try, admittedly, will turn on, run the fans, but not boot up.

I bought most of the components for this comp about 6 months ago, and I've been working on it as I have the time/money to do so. I haven't once managed to get this desktop booted up, and of course there's no sound or video to tell me what is or isn't working. No beeps or boops. A couple months back I took the comp to a place that could test that could test everything except the mobo and CPU (apparently they didn't have anything compatible with AMD3), and all of that worked fine. So I went to the manufacturer to RMA the motherboard and the CPU. Both are back now, everything is plugged in as far as I can tell, and I still have the same problem. I guess what I need to know is how I can test this kind of garbage individually without replacing parts and wasting money on shipping. I have zero clue now as to what is going wrong, and I'm open to any harebrained ideas.

So here is exactly what happens when I turn on the computer: the fans turn on--I have them all set to high so they make a racket. I don't hear anything. The CPU, case, PSU, and GPU fans are all on. There is no video. The optical drive is plugged in, and it works, but the disk tray just sort of juts out and pulls itself back in without stopping. That's it. Everything's on, but nobody's home.

Here are my specs:
(CPU) AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Socket AM3 125W
(MoBo) ASRock 990FX Extreme3 AM3+ AMD 990FX
(RAM) G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 1333MHz
(CPU cooler) stock
(Video Card) XFX Double D HD-687A-ZDFC Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5
(PSU) CORSAIR Builder Series CX500 500W ATX12V v2.3
(SSD) OCZ Agility 3 AGT3-25SAT3-120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive