Need a gaming pc for $1000

Shaoni

Honorable
Nov 13, 2012
Heya, I have no experience at all with building and upgrading systems. I do however need a new PC and since I wasn't able to find something satisfactory for my 1000 USD budget, I decided to try building it myself! Problem is I really don't know what parts to get or even how they're supposed to fit together.

I'd like something that can at least run everything on the market now relatively smoothly (I'm not expecting to run Crysis 3 on max with a budget like mine, but at least stuff like Skyrim on decent settings) as well as do other stuff such as surfing the internet and movies etc.

Anybody able to help?

Shaoni

Honorable
Nov 13, 2012
I already have a monitor, keyboard and mouse, but I won't be reusing any parts. I'll need to buy the OS, too.

Well, nobody really needs to buy software these days, do they, but I prefer doing it the legal way. :p

It's $24 over $1000, so if going a little over is unacceptable, then say so and I'll try changing it around a bit.
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/nArF

What do you think of that?
the i5-3570K is the most expensive CPU worth buying in a gaming build with a budget far under around $2000.

The ASRock Extreme 4 is a high end board with a lower mid-end price that gives it seemingly unbeatable bang for your buck as a motherboard.

This cooler is a fairly decent cooler. Ivy Bridge doesn't respond well to getting expensive and high end coolers and thanks to a combo deal with the CPU, this cooler was almost free, so why not?

A 2x4GB DDR3-1600 1.5V kit is really all that any modern gaming build needs and this is the cheapest high-quality kit.