How will this HTPC build handle gaming

Hey guys and gals, I am new to the HTPC realm (first build) and I have a question for you pro's out there. How will this build handle hardcore gaming?

Intel core i5 Ivy Bridge
SSD for OS
2 TB Western Digital HD
LG 14x BD Drive
G-Skill Sniper 16gb ram
GTX 570 Graphics card
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H Motherboard
Silverstone GT07 Case

Thanks up front for any input.
6 answers Last reply
More about htpc build handle gaming
  1. Good case choice - I have a Silverstone HTPC case and it's excellent. However there's no point in purchasing a GTX 570 - get a Radeon 7950 or a GTX 660TI instead, those are far better GPUs. Also no point in 16GB RAM for gaming. Also power supply is important - make sure you get a good one from Corsair or Seasonic.
  2. It should be an excellent gamer! I agree with the last comment that if you don't already have the GTX570, then you'd want to get one of the newer cards at the same price point that are a little less power hungry and run cooler. If you already have the 570, then it's still a very relevant card and game on!
  3. -cut the ram to 8gb. there is some patriot ram on sale at newegg
    -cut on the board. overkill.
    -get a less power hungry card. a 660ti or a 7870 will do
    -make sure you get yourself a samsung 830
    -i use seagates but WD is good as well

id get this
    http://pcpartpicker.com/p/nGOU

and this case. similar to the GT07 but has sound dampening and is 30 bucks cheaper. you can use a regular tower case and save even more though
    http://us.ncix.com/products/?sku=75057&promoid=1230
  4. Guys, thanks for the information. I bought the Samsung 840 based on your recommendations. Also for power supply I have the Seasonic X series X650. How is that power supply?
    Thanks
  5. Foamit said:
    Guys, thanks for the information. I bought the Samsung 840 based on your recommendations. Also for power supply I have the Seasonic X series X650. How is that power supply?
    Thanks