Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Please review my build (beginner)

Last response: in Systems
November 14, 2012 2:19:44 AM

Hey guys. This is my first time building a computer, so "101" language would be highly appreciated.

I was wondering if you all could review my build and make recommendations. Everything I post here is not set in stone, and i'd really appreciate it if you could be as descriptive as possible as to why you suggest why you suggest. For example, my cousin told me that the two components that need the most research is the PSU and the motherboard.

I will be purchasing these from Microcenter, Amazon, and newegg.

(I will buy the CPU and motherboard from microcenter for sure since I can get a discount from them).

Western Digital Caviar Black 1 TB SATA III 7200 RPM 64 MB Cache Internal Desktop Hard Drive Bulk/OEM - WD1002FAEX----- ($98)

Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor - $169

EVGA GeForce GTX 660 SUPERCLOCKED 2048MB GDDR5 DVI mHDMI DP Graphics Card 02G-P4-2662-KR -$229

Builder Series CX600 600 Watt ATX 12V Power Supply- $69 (PLEASE RECOMMEND SOMETHING ELSE IF YOU CAN).

Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit (Full) System Builder DVD 1 Pack -$91

As far as CPU cooler, RAM, Motherboard, Case, and DVD/CD optical drive goes, I don't know what I need...Is there a specific case that I need that has space for my GPU/CD/DVD drive?

The motherboard is a big problem for me, because I have no clue what I should get and if I get the wrong one, it won't work.

Please post links as well.

Is there anything else I need to buy?

Also- what do you guys think about me buying an SSD for that fast boot up?

My budget is somewhere around $1,000. This is a gaming/everyday use machine, like movies, etc.

More about : review build beginner

November 14, 2012 2:49:31 AM

i would get this psu instead...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

i have it and love it. made by superflower, which is an amazing brand.