Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Gtx 680 sparkle

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 19, 2012 9:59:07 PM

hello,

1st i would like to clear that im a total noob regarding OC so please dont flare if i dont know much

i recently bought a sparkle gtx 680 at a very good price from my brothers friend, for using 3 monitors (surround) playing games like bf3 ect.

but i already have a gtx 680 SC edition in y pc which i bought new form ebay. a month ago, which i found to struggle when i play bf3 on ultra on 22" led 3 monitors with good FPS.

so i decided to go SLI.

now my questions are:

1. which card is more powerful the sparkle or the evga SC??

2. when i go SLI which card is to be placed on the top and which on the bottom slot??

3. can i overclock the weaker card to match the speed (core speed) of that of the stronger card?? if YES how?? i dont know any thing about overclocking let alone 2 cards :p 

4. any guides on how i can overclock both to match each other

here is my current gtx 680 SC edition specs:

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

thanks

More about : gtx 680 sparkle

a b U Graphics card
September 19, 2012 10:14:06 PM

1. Unfortunately, I'm unfamiliar with sparkles card, but how much memory (VRAM) does each card have? If there is mis-matched memory, some of the available memory will not be used as the cards have to each hold the same data, as they take turns rendering a frame. Still, the cards will work fine, but perhaps with lower memory usage on one card. None-the-less, both cards will still scale the way they should.

SLI is flexible in that it doesn't matter what card goes in what slot, as long as your motherboard supports at least 2-way SLI. If you are wondering if it does, reply with you motherboard model number or name, and I can help you out with that.