Htpc video card

i am half way done building this and this is my first build ever - vengeance c70 case. amd fx-8150 cpu. sabertooth 990fx r2 motherboard. cx600 psu. 16gb 4x4 corsair ram . samsung 830 120gb ssd main and 2x3tb seagate HDD storage. 3 x asus dvd-rw drives. windows 64bit home os. it is for watching mkv and avi videos and burning and converting dvds. i was going to get the asus hd7750 but im not sure if thats good enough for my needs. would the hd7770 2gb be better? i will have this connected to 1 monitor and hdmi to 55" sony tv. no gaming. plz help me decide. thank you for your help.
5 answers Last reply
More about htpc video card
  1. just so we're clear here; so this is strictly for video playback and such? NO gaming at all? honestly, a little overkill with the Sabertooth board and the 8150 for that purpose alone.

as for the GPU, the 7750 would've been plenty in most cases, assuming you'll be setting it up to use DXVA. a 7770 would be nice i guess for formats that don't support DXVA. note the lowest end GPU i have for comparison is the HD6310; handles 10-bit 720p and 8-bit 1080p w/ DXVA vids just fine at worst. the 7750 is leagues beyond the 6310 from what i can tell.
  2. no gaming. the 8150 is for convertxtodvd.
  3. Hazle said:
    just so we're clear here; so this is strictly for video playback and such? NO gaming at all? honestly, a little overkill with the Sabertooth board and the 8150 for that purpose alone.

as for the GPU, the 7750 would've been plenty in most cases, assuming you'll be setting it up to use DXVA. a 7770 would be nice i guess for formats that don't support DXVA. note the lowest end GPU i have for comparison is the HD6310; handles 10-bit 720p and 8-bit 1080p w/ DXVA vids just fine at worst. the 7750 is leagues beyond the 6310 from what i can tell.

what is dxva? so the 7750 will be fine?
  4. Hazle said: