Sign in with
Your question

Looking for 150$ GPU

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 20, 2012 6:18:29 AM

Hi there guys

First of all, I am totally new to the whole computer hardware scene so please bare with me ;) 

I am currently building a new custom computer at the local computer store that belongs to a friend, so he is putting my set up together for free.

The handyman at the store doesnt really have that much info on cards... he is more of an assembler.

I am looking for a mid range computer that can run with high FPS on medium settings, games that I have my eyes on are LoL, GW2, Sw: TOR and Diablo 3

My power supply is included in the Gigabyte case and has 350W

The Computer store dude recommended the GTX 550 Ti 2GB for around 180$ but apparently it sucks

>> I am looking for a decent graphics card for around the price of 150$
I hear that some good ones are 6850, 6870, 7770 but I would also like some GeForce options...

FYI, I live in Dubai so prices are somewhat different and I cant really order from Newegg and the like, gonna need to buy it locally.

Your Help is greatly Appreciated :) 

PS: Does the quality between manufacturers differ alot? And if so are there any really bad manufacturers or really good ones I should keep an eye out for?

More about : 150 gpu

a c 185 U Graphics card
September 20, 2012 6:34:20 AM

6850/6870 are good choices
m
l
a c 198 U Graphics card
September 20, 2012 6:39:48 AM

The 6850 and 6870 are very solid choices, but with a 350W, I would recommend the 7770, as it uses much less power.

EDIT: All of which out-do the 550Ti.
m
l
Related resources
a c 185 U Graphics card
September 20, 2012 6:41:00 AM

Deemo13 said:
The 6850 and 6870 are very solid choices, but with a 350W, I would recommend the 7770, as it uses much less power.

EDIT: All of which out-do the 550Ti.
+1 forgot about that PSU :pt1cable:  :lol: 
m
l
September 20, 2012 6:46:27 AM