What computer should I get?

cfeth

Honorable
Nov 15, 2012
Games: WoW, LoL, Diablo 3, Sc2, Borderlands.
Budget: Max $1200, preferably something around $1000 or lower.
OS: I prefer windows 7, but if that's not possible, I can deal with windows 8.
Ram: 8gb min.
Monitor: Somewhere around 22" is good.
I have a 23" All-in-one computer so I need a monitor.
I do not know anything about graphic cards so some advice would be very helpful. For example, what is the difference between Nvidia and AMD? Price? Performance?
From the discussion below I guess i5 is good; if someone could tell me what the difference between i7 and i5 that would be great. Also, which processor model is better?

I want to build my own but I barely know enough to compare parts for the best one. I've never built a computer from scratch before so I don't know how long it will take, but I have taken a computer apart many times and put it back together(excluding motherboard and processor) for a class.

Here's one I looked at: http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/saved/1ELGQ7

I going off to college, so I'm going to be getting a laptop as well, just a cheap one for light stuff. It would be nice if someone found a good laptop too, though you don't have to.
Thanks.

unoriginal1

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2012
Link to the "cheap" one is broken.

First things first. For gaming a i7 is not the best way to go. Should be looking for an i5. I'd also highly recommend that you build your own gaming system as you will get higher quality products, and overall more bang for your buck.

What games do you play? What is your budget? These are questions people need answered to help you further :).

unoriginal1

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2012