Games crashing

madman24

Honorable
Sep 21, 2012
I recently built a new PC, well my friend did for me, it seemed to be running perfectly but then once I started playing GW2 running on ultra settings I started to get my issue below, exactly the same as what is happening currently in Borderlands 2.

I will start with my computer setup

Intel Core i5 2500K I have OC'd it myself to 4.0 just using the bios with auto voltage etc
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 Motherboard
Gainward GeForce GTX 680 Phantom 2GB
Silverstone Strider Plus 750W ST75F-P
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB
Noctua NH-D14 CPU Cooler
Seagate Barracuda 1TB ST1000DM003
16G Kingston Hyperx DDR3 1600

Now the issue.

I will play both these games and the issue could happen within 5mins and every 5mins or it could go for a few hours without it happening.

I will be playing along the games running smooth as silk, then just out of the blue the screen will go black sometimes it will crash, I get a few errors like the drivers have stopped responing, we have experienced an unrecoverable error etc etc, but most of the time the screen will go black then a few seconds later the game will reappear with like 10 FPS and I will have to restart the game to fix this.

It is really giving me the sh#ts can someone please help me or guide me in the right direction.

I have tried the previous few latest Nividia drivers including beta ones.

madman24

Honorable
Sep 21, 2012
My CPU is always low - Just did an MSI Kombustor stress test

CPU-43C
GPU-66C

Nividia drivers are up to date, what else should I check like motherboard drivers you mean?

Surgeking

Honorable
Sep 19, 2012
I'd also suggest completely uninstalling drivers and reinstall. It's never happened to me but i know sometimes just updating drivers, ( going from old ones to new ones as opposed to go from none to new) can cause issues.