Sign in with
Your question

I have two internet connections but only one computer

Last response: in Networking
November 5, 2011 10:28:05 PM

Noob question here.

I am fairly new to computers.

I am lucky enough to have two internet subscriptions. One is the regular from the phone line internet and the other is a wireless subscription I access via dongle.(globe tatoo.. if anyone is familiar with it)

Is it possible to connect to the internet on both subscriptions and then use one for specific applications and the other solely for games?

I want to be able to use the more stable direct connection for games and be able to use the 2nd subscription to download via torrent.

Please no more suggestions on using another computer. I have another computer but it is company owned and torrent is forbidden. Please also do not recommend just getting one good fast internet over two subscriptions because the 2nd internet plan is free and not from me.

Hope I get a quick answer. Thanks!~
November 6, 2011 8:24:05 AM

one problem you have is that Windows will usually only use one internet connection at a time.
m
l
November 6, 2011 11:48:22 AM

As Emerald suggests, Windows will only use one internet connection. That's because you can only have one default gateway (that's what makes it the default!). The other is ignored.

And yes, using another machine would solve that problem. But nothing says the other machines has to be real. You could create a "virtual" machine using say, VirtualBox instead (a great piece of software and worth learning)! Since a virtual machine manager let's you control which network connections are passed to the virtual machine, it effectively let's you use one for the host machine (the one w/ the highest priority as defined in Network Connections), and the other for the virtual machine (the lower priority internet connection). Voila, you now have use of both internet connections. You simply divide your workload among the host and virtual machine.