Sign in with
Your question

Need feedback on my failed Custom Build...

Last response: in Systems
November 18, 2012 5:53:06 AM

Guys,
This is my first time doing custom build, and i am really tight on budget.
I bought these components for the rig:

Ultra ULT40278 MicroATX Tower, USB, 2 Fans, 2x 5.25" Bays, 3x 3.5" Bays, All-In-1 Card Reader, Black,

Ultra Limited Edition 700W ATX Power Supply

AMD A6-3650 Llano 2.6GHz Socket FM1 100W Quad-Core Desktop APU (CPU + GPU) with DirectX 11 Graphic AMD Radeon HD 6530D AD3650WNGXBOX

Seagate Barracuda ST31000524AS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive - OEM

MSI A55M-P33 FM1 AMD A55 (Hudson D2) Micro ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Kingston HyperX XMP Blu Red Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 Desktop Memory Model KHX16C9B1RK2/8X

All of the above cost me 259 bucks.
I already have Monitor and accessories.
So, did i do something wrong? I know i should have consulted about the components.. =(
Any suggestions that you would like to give?

Thanks in advanced
November 18, 2012 7:57:47 AM

That PSU is the biggest problem, Ultra is not known for producing even adequate Power Supply's. Would replace it with a quality unit when you can. Also 700W is pretty overkill on a rig like this, a 450W would be sufficient (even if you hybrid crossfire a 6530 with it).

Otherwise you did fairly well.
m
l
November 18, 2012 9:30:09 AM

Why are you saying it failed? Did you assemble it and it's not working? What's the symptoms?
m
l
Related resources
November 18, 2012 12:48:33 PM

I haven't built it yet. But they are on shipping. People say that things are wrong with my build. I just wanna see what fix right now. So I will be ready when it arroives . BTW is my build a rip of since they cost exact 250?
m
l
November 18, 2012 12:53:43 PM

BTW what is PSU overkill? will it blow up my computer? O.o
m
l
November 18, 2012 12:57:14 PM

no it means its to much.....
m
l
November 18, 2012 12:59:00 PM