Sign in with
Your question

What components to upgrade for Flash games

Last response: in Systems
November 18, 2012 1:15:14 PM

Hi, I am looking into upgrading my mother's pc to give it a boost in performance. She basically only uses it for facebook flash games (farmville, chefville, etc. which run quite slow on her current setup) and some internet browsing. My best guess was to get a more powerful graphics card, but since I am not very experienced I would not like to spend money on this and end up with little to no improvement due to other components which are limiting the performance. I would therefore appreciate advice on which components you think are limiting the performance most, and need upgrading to have a balanced system with a noticeable improvement. These are her current specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E7400 CPU 2.8GHz, 3MB Cache, 1066MHz
ASRock G31M-S R2.0 Motherboard
4GM DDR2 800MHz RAM
Palit 9400GT 1024MB 128bit DDR2 Graphics Card
Monitor: Acer 23" wide screen Res: 1920 x 1080
Windows XP 64 bit
400W PSU

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks! :) 
November 18, 2012 1:24:06 PM

You can save a bit of money have her right click on the game there should be a tab for flash you can downgrade the graphics settings and you should see an improvement. Also you should try updating GPU drivers. If none of this works do a fresh install of adobe flash.
November 18, 2012 1:43:33 PM

Thanks, I'll try that:) 

However I mean to upgrade her pc as a gift, so I'd appreciate any feedback on which components would have the most effect for playing online flash games.
Related resources
November 18, 2012 9:12:20 PM

Her games shouldn't really lag on that system.. I'd be checking for software related issues. Has she had the computer a while? It might be in need of a clean up.

It's possible her broadband connection isn't fast enough, though I kinda doubt that.

Which ever it is the computer specs you listed should be more than capable of playing Facebook games