Sign in with
Your question

My first gaming rig for christmas 2012

Last response: in Systems
November 19, 2012 3:07:31 AM

hi guys,

i am new to this community and expecting to get a custom built computer from NCIX for Christmas. My max budget is $ 2200 or $ 2500 dollars with tax. I live in Ontario, Canada so the tax here is 0.13%. I am also ready to spend a couple of $100 extra if I have to. I am mostly going to be using this computer for playing games and to operate software like CAD and inventor since i'm a mechanical engineering student. Since this is going to be my first desktop computer after freakin 10 years, I don't want to built it by myself; I'm scared I might screw up. So far from my research I came up with this built for the rig. Feel free to advise me on this and make changes as you like. I want as much as help I can get from you guys. Thank You in advance.

processor: Intel Core i7 3770K LGA 1155 3.5GHZ Ivy Bridge ($335.86)

CPU cooler: Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H100 Extreme Performance ($103.50)

Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77 ATX ($229.69)

RAM: Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB 2*8 GB 1600GHZ ($149.00)

GPU: EVGA Gtx 680 Superclocked signature ($500)

Case: Cooler Master HAF X EATX Tower Case ($ 170)

Power supply: Corsair professional series Gold CMPSU-1200AX 1200W ($300)

SSD: OCZ Vertex 4 128GB ($125)

Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 2TB ($98)

Bluray Drive: Asus BC-12B1ST ($65)

Total : $ 2291.51 without tax.

Since I am expecting to order this computer over the boxing week, I expect the price of the components to drop. Advice from you guys will be very appreciable. Thank You.

November 19, 2012 3:12:22 AM

THE total $2291.51 includes a copy of Windows 7 Professional, professional assembly of the rig and shipping fee with insurance for the rig. But this does not includes the tax. Thank You.
m
l
November 19, 2012 3:40:31 AM

Unless you have money to burn, you can do very well for les.