Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Is this a safe overclock?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 23, 2012 10:37:12 PM

I have the 6870 (and an i3-2100) and I'm really new to overclocking. I'm using Sapphire Trixx (afterburner doesn't allow me to change voltage) and I have the settings:

GPU Clock: 1000 (from 900)
Memory Clock: 1100 (from 1050)
VDDC: 1190 (from 1175)

Is this safe to run for around 10 hours each day? And can I take it up any further than this? My temperatures are ~74C (fans 100%) in these settings when running Furmark and I get no artifacts.

Also one other question, if I run my graphics card fan at 100% for about 10 hours each day will it wear out or anything like that?

More about : safe overclock

September 23, 2012 10:52:14 PM

Quote:
It will eventually wear out, but necessarily because of your overclock. I have used gpus at 100% load for years (folding@home) and never had one fail. Now that doesn't mean yours won't, but if it stays cool enough (74 C is okay) and you benched it in Furmark (the best test I use), it should be fine. You could always set an OC profile for your gpu so it only runs overclocked when you game.

Ok thanks. As for the overclock, I tried increasing my memory clock upto 1150 and it goes well, but whenever I increase my GPU clock anywhere over 1000 my screen gets these weird vertical lines and I have to hard restart my computer. Do you think increasing the VDDC would help? Do you have any idea what the maximum VDDC I should allow it to go to?

Best solution

a b U Graphics card
September 23, 2012 11:20:11 PM

Running your fans at 100% will wear the fans out quicker but it won't hurt the gpu (don't worry about it). Honestly though, how can you stand the noise? I would drop the fan level down to ~50% and see what OC you can get with that.

For a 6870, below 85C on furmark after 15 minutes is recommended (this equates to gaming at about ~75C).