Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Please help with drivers for AMD 7660G + 7670M Dual Graphics

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 24, 2012 2:52:15 AM

Hiya!

I just got my new laptop today, and it is running an A10-4600M APU with a 7670M GPU. So that's Radeon 7660G + 7670M Dual Graphics (but most of you probably already know that... just trying to be precise)

What I'm hoping to find is someone with experience about how to optimize this dual graphics setup. I'm new to this... but not a total tool, so I have been googling forums for solutions. The general consensus (so far as I have been able to tell) is that CAP 12.8 (3) and Embedded Catalyst 12.9 is hugely beneficial for this hybrid Crossfire setup and really helps it start to show some gains (instead of the pitfalls previously associated with it). A lot of what I have read does indicate that I could cause some issues if I install the wrong drivers though if they conflicted with my setup.

What I'm hoping for is someone to hold my hand and tell me what drivers I should install, and hopefully provide links to the appropriate drivers. Any and all advice would be appreciated, as I haven't owned a gaming PC since 2001, and I am more than a decade out-of-the-loop.

I have downloaded all of the drivers that I feel are necessary, but again - I'm really looking for some advice and a confidence booster to get me going.

If anyone has suggestions, advice, or is willing to type up a short (stupid-proof ;)  ) tutorial ---> Much obliged!

Best solution

September 24, 2012 3:35:44 PM

Hi,

I have the same setup and it did took me awhile to get the best settings. Here is what I did.

Software:
Catalyst 12.8
Catlayst 12.9 embedded
CAP 12.8 3

1. Uninstall All the previous AMD/ATI drivers.
http://www.overclock.net/t/988215/how-to-properly-unins...

You will lose USB 3.0 function at this point.

2. restart.

3. Install Catalys 12.8 - Select ****custom. Install everything except the Control panel (last option).