Help building around motherboard!!!

rick123123

Honorable
Nov 17, 2012
Hey everyone,

This is my first time building a computer and i'd like some help if you could. So far i only have the motherboard, and storage. I have another $3-400 for the last remaining parts.

What I have bought so far:

Motherboard: Intel Desktop Motherboard LGA1155 DZ77BH55K (It was on Amazon Lightning Deals so i got it for $89 instead of its normal $169. otherwise i probably would have picked a different mobo.)

Storage: Kingston 120gb solid state drive and Seagate Barracuda 3 TB 7200RPM. ($220 overall)

What i need:

CPU: either i5-3470 or i5-3570k (The motherboard is supposed to be good for O.C. but i've never done that so that's not a major issue for me in picking cpu although if its not too hard i might learn how to do that in the future.)

Case (i need something that would give me best functionality and looks cool if you can but functionality is most important.)

Memory ( I read that there was a problem with some types of RAM on this motherboard so im not sure what i need exactly but i want about 8GB)

Video Card (I want to play games but I'm not a heavy PC Gamer (i am for ps3 though ;) ). I surf the internet a lot, download heavy files, and use animation and drawing software. I'm also studying engineering so in the future i'll use autocad and some other stuff like that. So is the integrated graphics enough or do i need something better? and if so what do you recommend.)

Cooling unit: Do i really need one?

And as a general question, overall would this computer be able to last me 5+ years without being obsolete?

Thanks for all the Help!!!!

Solution

malbluff

Honorable