Jordammo

Honorable
Aug 23, 2012
hey everyone,

*sorry if this is the wrong forum section*

just a bit of background i've been working with computers for about 11 years and i currently work at staples. i bough ta prebuilt machine and upgraded it because it was cheaper in the end.

my computer lags. i had 8gb's of ram (ddr2) and it was lagging heavy. i have a xfx 5770 and a 550w power supply.

the computer lags heavy when i'm downloading itunes. i though it was software so i did a fresh install of the OS and it is still lagging.

i cant test the video card on another computer unless i move the power supply as well.

i have taken out every ram and ran the computer on it's own. i have 2 samsung sticks and 2 kingston sticks. the kingston's work well together and whenever i put in a samsung (one or both) the computer lags hard.

could it be a hard drive issue or is there anything else i should try?

Much appreciated

Jordan

Jordammo

Honorable
Aug 23, 2012
my internet speed is low but i've had low speeds and only the browser was slow. but yes it is slow. i am not doing anymore online gaming. this happens when installing programs or the computer is on for over 5 minutes

Sometimes this is malware "or the computer is on for over 5 minutes" or a broken install.

The easiest approach unless you have data on the PC you need is to reinstall using the factory restore process. It's simple but it takes a few hours. When it is done the PC is exactly the same way it was the day your bought it. You would then need to reinstall all games, etc.

One note, if you are not running an anti-virus you should install free 'microsoft security essentials'. google it. If you are doing the factory install then install MSE after you do the factory install. Then keep doing windows update & reboot until it can't find any more fixes. You'll need to tell win update to check again after each reboot.

Norten is too noisy for me at home. But it is really secure. I use it at work.