kkeddy

Honorable
Nov 22, 2012
Hi everyone, I haven't built a computer for many years, I felt like this black friday will be a good chance for me to do so.

Here is what I am looking into,

I5 3570k ($150 black friday sale) (canada)
Asus p8Z77-v LK ($120)

I do plan to OC it, but not anything over 4ghz,

Now the question is, What kind of RAM should I be getting? 1600/1800/2200 or higher?

I know the most popular is probably the 1600.

I am probably looking at 2x8GB sticks, what is a good brand or type for this? I plan to upgrade to 32gb in the future.

I did some research most people suggested 8gb ram is more than enough for basic internet, and gaming.

My purpose of this machine is neither of that. This machine will be more of a multi functional PC

I am a networking student (or just graduated) I need the ram to power all my virtual machines (vmware) to build my "virtual lab environment" for testing (WinServer, Linux distros etc). Right now on my laptop I have 8gb of ram and that barely handles 4 VM's at once. vCenter Server Appliance uses 8gb of ram itself..

I know my criteria for this build is not as common as everyone, and did google searches, but haven't came up with a good answer yet.

Let me know what is good!

My budget for the ram will be under $100 for the 16gb, with the ability to upgrade another 16gb on top in the future.

kkeddy

Honorable
Nov 22, 2012
here is what i ended up with.

i5 3570k - $149 (black friday deal)
p8z77v-lk - $100 (bf deal)
OCZ Vertex 3 SSD 128gb - $50 (bf deal)
antec three hundred case - $FREE (had one laying around)
ANTEC high current modular 620w PSU - $FREE (had one laying around)
Cosair XMS3 8gbx2 dual channel - $50 (BF dea)

ATI HD5770

so over all the build was good, everything is working smoothly. Until I installed the Video card.

Lets just say, i spent about 4 days, figuring out what was wrong with the video card.