Windows 7 - SSD - RAID reinstall question

So im a noob at all this but i realized i installed my windows 7 the other week on m y new build as ide, instead of ahci or raid. gigabyte Z68 2500k 120gb ocz agility3 is my setup so i obviously should be taking advantage of raid so I'm gonna have to reinstall which is no biggie.

Ive found a pretty complete guide on overclock.net and other places as well but my main question is what raid should i pick if i only have the single ssd as a drive right now? Raid 0 or raid 1? The ocz agility 3 supports trim. Do i want trim? Can anyone point me to some guides to these modern ssd's?

My pc is just for media and gaming and i have a external usb hdd that i regularly back up my precious files, so I'm mostly concerned with getting the maximum performance rather than protection.

Thanks.

Solution
In order to enable AHCI to get the most of your SATA controller you will have to reinstall windows 7. Raid is for improving the performance and/or reliability of your drives when using two or more of the same spec hard drives. In your case, it sounds like you have a single SSD, so raid wouldn't apply to your SSD.

TRIM is essentially your operating system telling your hard drive which pieces of information are no longer being used, and can therefore be wiped clean. This allows the drive to perform consistently over its lifespan. You'll want to enable this feature and disable any defrag software for your SSD.

In regards to guides for SSDs, http://thessdreview.com/ has a lot of good info. What specifically are you trying to learn...

dechy

Distinguished
Mar 7, 2008
For one, you can't do RAID with your current setup; you need more than a single disk.

Two, no SSD supports TRIM over RAID yet, and I personally wouldn't give up TRIM for RAID.

Sadly, you should of installed as AHCI to get full benefits of NCQ and other nifty technologies. Don't go switching it on the fly, not a good idea unless you get the exact steps (need to reinstall).