Sign in with
Your question

EVGA Nvidea GeForce GTX 550 TI - Drivers and BSOD issues

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 28, 2012 2:14:28 PM

REALLY sorry for the long post, but I'm trying to be as detailed as possible!

Hey there everyone! Long time reader, first time poster. I have been working in the IT field for a little over 5 years and currently work for the VA at a National Service Desk. I have built and re-built a few computers in my time and I know my way around a computer (I have 2 degrees, 1 in Micro-computer support and 1 in computer networking) but have never had as much "fun" as I'm having with this new machine.

Here are the specs!
Case: NZXT Crafted Series Phantom Black / Green Trim Steel / Plastic ATX Full Tower Computer Case (With 4 fans ranging from 140mm to 200mm)
MOBO: ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Professional
Processor: AMD-FX 8150 Zambezi 8-core
RAM: x2 8GB DDR3-1866 G-Skill Sniper Series
Power Supply: Antec Earthwatts 650 Watt
Hard Drive: Samsung HD320KJ ATA
Graphics Card: (You Guessed it) EVGA Nvidea GeForce GTX 550 TI 2GB (Super clocked edition72 MHz GPU clock)

So I pieced this bad boy together, updated (and re-updated) all of my drivers and windows updates over the course of the last month. I have been trying to play games (Guild Wars 2, Eve Online, Diablo 3, Starcraft 2, etc.) and I keep running into the same problem on every game!

When the computer is idle, it works great and has absolutely no issues. However, when I attempt to play a game, it will work fine for a while (time fluctuates between 5 minutes to an hour once) and then 1 of 3 things happens.

1) The screen goes black for a few seconds, then comes back and displays a message that the drivers have stopped responding and have recovered and says something about the current version that I'm using and it being the kernel driver that crashed and then I can play for a minute longer and then get the same problem again, but usually I just turn it off to avoid problem number 2.