How good is my computer and how can i make it better?

pamegerow

Honorable
Nov 23, 2012
Hi, as you can see i'm new to this thread.
The reason i'm making this thread is because yahoo answers is poop when it comes to this stuff and nearly useless so I thought i'd give it a shot and ask the people more knowledgable in this terrain.
So basically i've been thinking about upgrading my computer as it's not really cutting it for me. Here are the specs:
CARD : NVIDIA GeForce GT 220
PROCESSOR : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8400 @ 2.66GHz
Total available graphics memory: 2815 MB
Dedicated graphics memory : 1024MB
Dedicated system memory :0 MB
Shared system memory :1791 MB
Primary monitor resolution :1360x768
Secondary monitor resolution :1680x1050
DirectX version :DirectX 10 (Dxdiag says directX 11?)
Total size of hard disk(s) :932 GB
Disk partition (C:) :802 GB Free (931 GB Total)
Total amount of system memory : 4.00 GB RAM
System type :64-bit operating system
Number of processor cores :4

So my questions are : How good is this computer and what is it suppost to be able to run? I know what it runs but some simple things like sc2 will lag at medium so i'm wondering what it's suppost to be able to run.
Can you tell me what's bad about it and what i need to improve on it and how?

I also have some other questions i've been wondering about. How does the screen resolution affect how well a game will run? And Does my os affect how much ram i *actually* have or something like that?
I hope this question is understandable and you guys will be able to help me, thanks.

Ohmybad

Distinguished
Nov 16, 2011
your CPU is solid to run modern games. it would benefit from an after market cooler and an Overclock.

GPU needs to be replaced. it's VERY weak for today's standards.