Upgrading a Geforce 8600 GT to a hd 7750 on an old PC

loneoboe

Honorable
Sep 28, 2012
Hello,
I've been rocking an HP Pavilion a6442p for the past four years, with a GeForce 8600 GT that I installed to replace the integrated card. No problems at all until about a week ago- card burned out on me, but it had a good run. If I had the resources to upgrade the entire PC, I'd do that, but that's not in the cards. Essentially, I'm wondering if I can run the hd 7750 on my current rig, or if I need a new PSU, or a new PSU and a new CPU, or if it's completely hopeless. Specs/requests to follow...

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Within two weeks BUDGET RANGE: $100 or less (for the GPU, up to $150 if a new PSU is needed)

Here's the GPU I'm leaning toward...

SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7750 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card ( 11202-00-20G)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102969

USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT:
1.Midrange gaming- current gen gaming on middle settings is perfectly acceptable as long as it's playable (was in the middle of Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood when the 8600 gave out)
2. Good movie playback.

CURRENT GPU AND POWER SUPPLY: GeForce 8600 GT and a stock (Hipro D2537F3R)250W PSU: 3.3V@18A,+5V@25A,+12V@14A,-12V@0.8A,+5VSB@2.0A (I don't really know what that means, but those are the numbers)

OTHER RELEVANT SYSTEM SPECS:
Below is the link to my System Specs. I haven't upgraded anything, other than the GPU.

I do have a PCI-e slot, but I'm pretty sure it's 1.0. I know that the hd 7750 is as "high-end" as I can go w/o definitely needing to upgrade the PSU. My other big concern is the Pentium E2200 Dual Core @ 2.2Ghz being too puny...

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?objectID=c01403218&lang=en&cc=us&taskId=101&contentType=SupportFAQ&prodSeriesId=3677047&prodTypeId=12454

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: No Preference, but newegg seems to have the best prices.