Why can't one take system HD out of old PC and drop into new one?

sscheinfe

Distinguished
Apr 12, 2009
So. I'm a computer professional but have never found an answer to this one. this issue has boggled me for years.

Every time I upgrade PCs, I am forced to resintall the entire "c" drive....and reinstall every single one of my HUNDREDS of programs (after tracking down CDs and install files), which takes days to weeks. I have tried to simply take old system drive out and drop into a new PC, but it never works....Windows inevitably won't run.

Why is this? Why can't the main drive just function in a new PC? If this is because of system-specific chipset/MB drivers and such, is there no way to "preload" these through my old PC and smoothly transition to the new one?

Is there no way to do this?
I don't have the time and patient to reinstall EVERYTHING all over again and again...

mbreslin1954

Distinguished
Each new system has different chipsets and devices on the motherboard, requiring different device drivers that Windows on the old hard disk drive (HDD) does not contain. So Windows, in many cases, will not know how to communicate properly with the devices.

In addition, Windows license activation is keyed to the specific hardware in the system, in order to prevent casual copying of Windows. When the HDD is put into a new system with all new hardware, Windows is going to detect that and insist on reactivation, which of course will fail since the Windows license key is tied into your old hardware.

I may have missed something, but that is the problem in essence.

mbreslin1954

Distinguished