Sign in with
Your question

DIY pc novice

Last response: in Components
Anonymous
November 25, 2001 4:34:02 PM

hello,
im a novice when it comes to hardware,but nether the less im attempting to build a pc myself(well,ive been told its not too hard).Anyway,my questions are:
1)im going to buy a motherboard with an AMD XP1600 (msi MS-6380LE),and im confused as to what case to buy.I know the case must be ATX 6 holes, but the PSU is confusing me.I have no idea of what power i will need :( 

2)Are all drives(hard,cd,disc) the same,or do i have to buy a specific type for my system?

3)Can you install the same copy of windows xp on two different machines,or even if you can network two pcs running win xp and win 98, to each other?Is this possible to do through a simple usb to usb link?

THANKYOU FOR ANY HELP PROVIDED,ITS VERY MUCH APPRECIATED,
Mr Wiffen.

More about : diy novice

November 25, 2001 5:12:28 PM

1) Go with 400watt psu. You're safe for *almost* any configuration.
2) No, not all hard disks are the same. You'll see speed differences across the whole media. Unless you're using the computer a lot, you'll not notice the speed differences between the newer drives.
3) There a couple of workarounds I've heard of on XP. One cracks the registry for 180days. The other copies a single file over to the clone computer, which makes it register'd with msft.

Rich is the nation that has many war heroes. Long since forgotten...
Anonymous
November 25, 2001 5:51:32 PM

ok, ive done a bit more research into this, and found a case with 300 psu, at a nice price :) .Is this enough do you think?
Another point is i did a search on the mainboard,and brought up its spec http://www.msicomputer.com/product/detail_spec/K7T266_L... ,and see there is no mention of video or graphics.Im planning to get a geforce2 for games,do you think this will work on this board?