Sign in with
Your question

What GPU to get?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 1, 2012 3:56:34 PM

Hi There,

I am attempting my first pc build so I am a bit of a newbie!! I have some general questions to ask and if you can help I would very much appreciate it!

Sorry if my descriptions are to vague as I am a noob you will have to bare with me :-)

So it here it goes...

So far I have obtained the following:

- 3770k cpu
- Asus P8Z77-V Premium motherboard

and soon will be getting the following: (unless you suggest otherwise)

os = windows ultimate
ram = 4 x 4gb corsair vengeance
ssd = 1 x 256gb crucial m4 ssd drive
psu = I am thinking corsair 800+

I will be using the rig for things such as:

- Adobe CS6 master suite 64bit apps
- Gaming
- Video editing rarely
- Developing
- Day - to - day stuff

So the questions I have are:

What GPU will suffice? Considering the PSU, mobo (ATX) compatibility and that I would like multiple screens set up?

Is 4 x 4gb DDR3 corsair 1600mhz overkill? Considering the CPU capability and the GPU's electricity consumption?

Is it worth getting a hdd drive and using the in-built ssd 32gb cache drive in conjunction?

Is it worth getting two ssd drives and setting up raid level 0 ? as far as I can tell it is only to boost the performance of a normal spindle drive?

What PSU shall I get? Considering the $$ I will be spending on the electricity bill each month :-)

And finally fan cooling or watercooling? I know that if I will be overclocking then I will need to use watercooling right? And quite frankly it looks a bit daunting to build my own water cooled system

Thanks,
Jack

More about : gpu

October 1, 2012 5:13:04 PM

You want a good GPU to have multiple screens as you've said, so I'd advise either 7870, or a 7970 depending on budget, or for Nvidia, a 670, or perhaps even a 680 if the budget allows it.

16GB of RAM is not overkill, especially for CS6 and encoding, and for the spec of the rest of the build it's quite suitable.