Solved

First Build...Suggestions greatly appreciated

Hello all,

I am taking advantage of some of the great deals going on right now and building a budget gaming/entertainment system. I'm a first time builder and have done a fair share of research on multiple sites. Right now I was planning on building around an i3-2120 and an ASRock H77 that are currently on sale on newegg. I am planning on sticking with the integrated graphics right now to keep the cost down. Anyway, I will be using this mostly for media and some moderate gaming at some point.

Do you think I am on the right track with the CPU/MOBO combo?

Can anyone help with suggestions on how to proceed from here? I am hoping to keep the total under $600. Thanks a bunch!
10 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about first build suggestions greatly appreciated
  1. Yea if your only doing light gaming a H77 and a i3 will be ok until you can get a GTX 650 or 7750... I'd recommend you try and get a 500 or 550 watt. But make sure its a good 500 or 550 watt.

Good mobo brand by the way.
  2. For just $10 more on the processor, you can get the Ivy Bridge version of the i3-2120.

This is the i3-3220, it will be slightly faster, and consume slightly less power. For slightly more. See what I'm getting at here?

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3734679&SRCCODE=LINKSHARE&cm_mmc_o=-ddCjC1bELltzywCjC-d2CjCdwwp&AffiliateID=8BacdVP0GFs-e5Vd8JzMhphn1FlKUyutDQ
  3. Rockdpm said:
    Yea if your only doing light gaming a H77 and a i3 will be ok until you can get a GTX 650 or 7750... I'd recommend you try and get a 500 or 550 watt. But make sure its a good 500 or 550 watt.

he doesn't need a 500w psu for a computer with gtx 650 or 7750..... 350-400w is more than enough with that combination... (without a gpu)

You don't need 500w until like 7870/GTX 670 area GPUs along with a quad core cpu...
  4. Rockdpm said: