Want to help me build a PC?

Dreakon

Honorable
Nov 24, 2012
Hi all,

I'm following the template in the sticky, but I just wanted to start by saying I'm kind of new to PC building. I did it a decent amount before, but things I used to know have become obsolete (like AGP video cards lol) and I really don't know where the PC world has gone since then. I'm not sure what brands are on top or what's really needed for a functional gaming PC these days, whats overkill, what are potential bottlenecks, etc.

I appreciate any help, and please bare with me if I'm annoyingly novice when it comes to this.

Approximate Purchase Date: I'd love to answer this but when I purchase this will depend on when I have everything I need figured out. In the next week or two?

Budget Range: $1000, Before Rebates, After Shipping. A little over is okay but that's where I'm aiming. I'm guessing that should be enough to play just about anything out there, but games with higher requirements would need the graphics toned down a bit (but still playable).

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming is the most important, though it will be used for my day to day web surfing, video watching and whatnot. Remoting into my work PC as well.

Are you buying a monitor: No.

Parts to Upgrade: I want to build a new one from scratch. So... all parts?

Do you need to buy OS: Yes, but for the purposes of this I'm not including it in the $1000 budget. Just going to get some fancy version of Windows 8.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg most likely, they've never steered me wrong yet.

Parts Preferences: I don't have a preference really. I guess Intel has never really done me wrong. I used to like ATI a lot but I'm willing to go Nvidia or either way depending on what brands are on top these days.

Overclocking: No. Don't care for it.

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe. I'd say No as it's not a priority for this, but it'd be nice to be able to upgrade if needed. If that's possible...