Sign in with
Your question

1000 - 1500 USD Gaming Workstation Build

Last response: in Systems
November 26, 2012 2:07:27 PM

Good day

Maybe it's a little too early to ask, but I'm a media arts student who's looking to get a new system next year likely April or May next year.

Since I'm trying to squeeze everything out of a thousand USD equivalent (in the Philippines here), and I'm thinking that if I go and wait to get Haswell, the prices of new parts might not make it within my budget. I'm thinking Sandy/Ivy will still pack the gear anyway.

Approximate Purchase Date: 5-6 months

Budget Range: equivalent of 1000 USD, ideally, but the highest I can push for is probably 1500 USD equivalent (and that's really pushing it).

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Work over gaming. So...

3D applications like Maya/Max & Mudbox/Zbrush > Adobe Creative Suite > Resolve Lite > Corel Painter > Games (Metro and Crysis Titles)

Are you buying a monitor: Yes - but this can wait

Parts to Upgrade: everything new

Do you need to buy OS: Yes

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: I'll be looking to local retailers here for this. They can also do the assembly.

Location: Philippines. That's why I keep mentioning USD equivalent. I check local prices. They're pretty close.

Parts Preferences: Definitely an Intel CPU and an Nvidia GPU for CUDA. I have a preference for a Corsair PSU as well.

Overclocking: Maybe - this is subject to careful consideration. Philippine summer temps (heck even on some days during the monsoon season) can reach over 30C on a daily basis. I may consider overclocking if I have saved enough for a replacement CPU.

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe - but if ever, it will be much later. I want a powerful GPU instead of two weaker ones. So CFX/SLI consideration is very low priority.

Monitor Resolution: If I don't immediately get a 1920 x 1200 monitor, it'll be 1600 x 1050.

Additional Comments: I'll be needing a lot of cooling to take on ambient heat.

Thanks.